Christmas Comes Early

It finally arrived yesterday:  50 plus pounds of cardboard, paper and acrylic, packaged so carefully, with such meticulously designed padding, it could have housed a museum-worthy piece of art. In fact it did: my very own copy of Modernist Cuisine.

What is it, you may ask? It is a six-volume, 2,438-page set of books with a total of 3,216 full color photographs and 1.1 million words dedicated to food and cooking. It is described as a benchmark, a landmark, unparalleled, a cookbook to end all cookbooks. After trying to lift it if from the floor onto the table, just by weight alone I’d agree.

This definitive kitchen manual’s full name is Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking. It was created by Nathan Myhrvold (the first chief technology officer at Microsoft who now has lots of money and a passion for food), Chris Young, Maxime Bilet and their 20-person team at The Cooking Lab. The first 5 volumes are really the coffee table books, assuming you have a coffee table strong enough and big enough to showcase them. The workhorse volume 6 is called Kitchen Manual, and is spiral-bound and printed on waterproof, tear-resistant synthetic paper.

Think of it as Betty Crocker on steroids or the Joy of Cooking with the volume turned up extra, extra loud. Why splurge on such a piece of publishing? I love food. I love to cook. I love science. And, I love photography. This set is designed specifically to account for all of that. And yes, it is gloriously and meticulously designed. As I’ve said before, design at its best, permeates almost everything in our lives. The better our designs, hopefully the better out lives can be. And for those who’ve worked on the design of this set of books, it shows the dedication and passion for making something that is truly functional and exquisitely beautiful.

As it might take me years to read through the thousands of pages, I’ll postpone my review for now (FYI the review in the NY Times is a good read). But at least now I’ll never have an excuse for being bored.

For more information or to make Christmas come early for yourself go to modernistcuisine.com

For the NYT review:  http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/09/dining/09modernist.html


This entry was posted in Information and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Comes Early

  1. Jeni Quigg says:

    When am I coming for dinner?! Wow! how incredible of a book!! Congratulations!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Jeni! With all those pages, might take me a long time to filter through and find a good recipe. I think we should stick to the tea leaf salad! We need to make that happen 🙂

  3. Adrienne Harris says:

    Does this also include the art and science of baking and working with sugar and chocolate? 🙂

  4. David says:

    So far from what I’ve read, no…they don’t include pastry. But believe me what I’ve read so far is very interesting!

Comments are closed.